Winners of 2015 Advance Global Australian Awards announced

Advance, Australia’s largest global network of high achieving Australians, yesterday announced the 2015 Advance Global Australian Awards winners.

The Advance Global Australian Awards honour Australians who have achieved remarkable feats in their industry whilst living overseas or having since returned to Australia. These are the only awards to recognise the important contributions of the more than one million Australians living abroad.

The awards are judged by an expert panel of global industry leaders including Carla Zampatti AC (Executive Chairman of Carla Zampatti Pty Ltd), Maggie Beer (cook and food author) and Ken Allen AM (Advance Founder and Chairman Emeritus).

Winners are those who display innovation, leadership and entrepreneurship excellence in their field.

“We believe one of Australia’s greatest exports is its talent. It’s a great to honour these individuals and to be able to share their success stories,” said Serafina Maiorano, Global CEO Advance.

Award winners will be celebrated at The Advance Awards Gala Dinner and Ceremony following a Global Summit held at The Sydney Opera House on Monday 14th September 2015.

“What we unearth through our Awards is a remarkable group of lesser known Australians who – with what I believe is a unique brand of Australian resourcefulness and an innate sense of fairness – are out there literally changing the world,” said Glen Boreham AM, Chairman of Advance.

On the night, a champion from one of the categories will be awarded the title of Advance Global Australian of the Year. The winner of this award is an Australian pioneer and provocateur, who themselves have made a significant impact on the global stage.

“Winning the Advance Global Australian of the Year Award 2014 and in my industry category, Advanced Manufacturing, greatly strengthened my ties back to Australia, and made me think a lot more about how I can help my industry back home,” said 2014 Advance Global Australian of the Year recipient and last year’s No. 73 on BRW Young Rich List, Christopher Boshuizen, co-founder and CTO of Planet Labs Inc.

Other categories being awarded on the night include the Global Alumni Award, presented to an alumnus of an Australian university who is not an Australian citizen or resident and the Advance Global Icon Award which will be received by an internationally-renowned Australian. Baz Luhrmann was the inaugural recipient of this award in 2014. Additionally for the first time the inaugural Global Impact from Australia Award will be given to extraordinary talent who has made a significant contribution to Australia globally from Australia.

The winners for each industry category are as follows:

– Rodney Brooks (Advanced Manufacturing) Founder, Chairman and CTO
Rethink Robotics

– James Gorman (Financial Services) Chairman and CEO Morgan Stanley

– Hugh Evans (Social Impact) CEO of Global Poverty Project

– Lauren Jackson (Sport) Professional Basketball Player WNBA

– Siobhan Reddy (Commercial Creatives) Studio Director Media Molecule

– Karen Day (Life Sciences) Dean of Science, University of Melbourne

– Michelle Garnaut Owner M Restaurant Group, and Peter Carberry Deputy Director General ICRISAT (Co-winners for Food and Agriculture)

– Cameron Hepburn (Clean Technology) Co-Founder Climate Bridge, Vivid Economics & Aurora Energy Research

– Carolyn McGregor (Technology Innovation) Canada Research Chair in Health
Informatics, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

The winner of the 2015 Global Alumni Award is:

– Nasima Rahmani, Director, Women's Empowerment Center, Gawharshad Institue of Higher Education (UTS)


For more on Advance, click here.


To read a Manufacturers' Monthly interview with the winner in the Advanced Manufacturing category, Dr Rodney Brooks, click here.



Leave a Reply