WA Future Battery Industry taskforce members announced

The Western Australian state government has announced the Future Battery Industry taskforce while continuing its search for a global cathode active minerals (CAM) manufacturer.

Mines and Petroleum Minister Bill Johnston revealed the members of the Future Battery Industry Strategy’s Ministerial taskforce.

The taskforce, which includes mining companies, industry bodies and union groups, will actively explore local and global opportunities to grow the state’s critical minerals industry.

Mines and Petroleum Minister Bill Johnston said developing the industry will be particularly important to support the state’s post-COVID-19 recovery.

“I’m excited to announce the members of the Future Battery Industry Ministerial Taskforce, who will actively explore global opportunities to grow our State’s critical minerals industry,” he said.

“The updated Future Battery Industry Strategy will cement WA as a premier provider of minerals and materials, and a leader in technological expertise.”

Western Australia has all the minerals required to make lithium-ion batteries, which are predominantly used in electric vehicles, mobile phones, laptops and cameras.

Cathodes are a core component in the lithium-ion battery value chain.

The  Future Battery Industry Strategy has also been recharged to ensure WA’s capabilities are identified in the battery and critical minerals supply chain space.

The boosted strategy will harness the opportunities presented by critical minerals and rare earth elements, which are required to manufacture defence technologies, wind turbines and solar panels, and aeroplane engines and alloys.

Industry represented on the Ministerial Taskforce includes:

• Albemarle Lithium
• Association of Mining and Exploration Companies
• Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union
• Australian Services Union
• Australian Vanadium
• BHP Nickel West
• Chamber of Commerce and Industry WA
• Chamber of Minerals and Energy WA
• Coogee Chemicals
• EcoGraf
• Lisle Group
• Lycopodium
• Lynas Corporation
• Magellan Power
• Northern Minerals
• Pilbara Minerals
• Primero
• Tianqi Lithium Australia

Leave a Reply