John Pollaers to chair new industry and skills committee

Former Pacific Brands CEO John Pollaers has
been appointed to chair the Australian Industry and Skills Committee.

The Australian Financial Review reports that Pollaers will lead the 12-member body, which features representatives
nominated by each state and territory government and a member from one of three business
groups rotating annually.

Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry has nominated the first member,
Jenny Lambert, with the Business Council of Australia and the Australian
Industry Group to put members forward in the future.

committee is part of the government’s replacement of the 12 Industry Skills Councils.
This is, according to the government, aimed at putting the needs of industry first
in as it reforms vocation education and training.

Committee replaces a complex framework of 13 different committees and advisory
bodies, simplifying governance of the vocational education sector and,
importantly, putting industry at the centre of the system,” said Liberal senator Simon Birmingham in a statement.

who also currently also chairman of the Australian Advanced Manufacturing Council,
said he anticipated, “Working closely with government, education, and
industry leaders across all states and territories to ensure that Australian
industry has access to a highly skilled and competitive workforce”.

The committee’s members are listed below.

  • Mr John Pollaers (Chair)
  • Mr Mick McMahon (Commonwealth)
  • Ms Tara Diamond (Commonwealth VET Advisory Board member)
  • Ms Patricia Neden (VIC)
  • Mr Brett Schimming (QLD)
  • Mr Adrian Smith (SA)
  • Mr Ian Hill (WA)
  • Mr Darren Mathewson (TAS)
  • Mr Andrew Bruyn AM (NT)
  • Ms Michelle Melbourne (ACT)
  • Ms Jenny Lambert (Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry).