Manufacturing News

Newly appointed AusBiotech Chair

CEO & managing director of Patrys Limited, Dr James Campbell, has been appointed as chair of AusBiotech following a unanimous board vote.

“It’s an extraordinary privilege to be appointed chair of AusBiotech and to lead our organisation in partnership with the board and our CEO, Rebekah Cassidy, at such a pivotal time for our members,” said Campbell.

Dr Campbell was initially appointed as a non-executive director of AusBiotech in April 2021 and has been interim chair since November 2023.

During this time, he has brought significant focus to AusBiotech’s role as the leading voice to government, investors, and the international community on behalf of Australia’s growing life sciences sector.

“As Australia’s biotech, medtech, and diagnostics companies scale up and out, it’s crucial that AusBiotech continues to strengthen its role as the informed, leading and trusted voice of our sector. Our strategic trajectory over the coming years must be one of growth and transformation for the benefit of our members,” said Campbell.

Dr Campbell brings nearly 30 years of international biotechnology management and leadership experience to the AusBiotech board.

His appointment as chair comes following a unanimous request from, and vote of, the board.

“I’m grateful to my fellow Board members for their invitation to become Chair and their unanimous support. I’m looking forward to continuing to work with them, our CEO, and the dedicated AusBiotech team to achieve our goals,” said Campbell.

The complete AusBiotech board consists of:

  • Chair: Dr James Campbell, CEO, Patrys Ltd
  • Deputy Chair: Ms Erica Kneipp, Research Director, Human Health, CSIRO
  • Risk and Audit Sub-Committee, Chair: Dr Megan Baldwin, Chief Innovation Officer, Opthea Ltd (ASX:OPT)
  • Remuneration and Nomination Sub-Committee, Chair Dr Dean Moss, CEO, UniQuest Pty Ltd
  • Dr Marthe D’Ombrain, Head of Global Research Innovation, CSL Ltd
  • Dr Iris Depaz, Country Medical Lead & Head of Medical, Vaccines, Sanofi Australia & New Zealand
  • Professor John Skerritt, Enterprise Professor in Health Research Impact, University of Melbourne
  • Dr Liz Dallimore, CEO & Managing Director, Argenica Therapeutics Ltd
  • Dell Kingsford Smith, VP, Medical Affairs, Market Access & Government Affairs, Cochlear (Board Observer)
  • Ms Rebekah Cassidy, CEO, AusBiotech
Send this to a friend