Manufacturing News

2012 Endeavour Awards celebrates Australian manufacturing success

NOW in its ninth year, the Manufacturers’ Monthly Endeavour Awards is the only national awards program specifically for Australia’s manufacturing industry that celebrates and recognises the achievements of industry leaders in their drive to achieve ‘best practice’ and excellence in manufacturing.

This year, the Manufacturers’ Monthly team received an influx of quality nominations – 92 award entries – to be exact, which goes to prove that manufacturing is still thriving in Australia.

“The number of finalists this year reflects the strength and diversity of Australia’s manufacturing industry and proves to the doomsayers that the industry is alive and well, and is in fact booming in many areas,” says Manufacturers’ Monthly’s editor-at-large Alan Johnson.

To read more on the nominations, look to the following pages to find summaries about the outstanding products, projects and people from this year’s thirteen award categories, with three more to appear in the May issue. The categories reflect Australia’s broad range of manufacturing excellence and that Australian companies are on par with the best in the world.

Last year the Endeavour Awards celebrated Manufacturers’ Monthly 50th birthday with over 300 manufacturers gathering at the RACV Club in Melbourne on 25 May – it was the biggest turnout for the Endeavour Awards ever had.

The awards celebrated over 99 local manufacturing success stories; proving that despite an unstable global economic market, and the off-shoring of local production by some big manufacturers, Australian manufacturing is strong, resilient and adaptable to change local and global conditions.

Comedian Vince Sorrenti keep guests last year entertained, while keynote speakers Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency Mark Dreyfus, who introduced Senator Kim Carr’s video, Opposition Leader Tony Abbott and Holden Australia’s executive director of manufacturing operations, Martyn Cray addressed more pressing concerns for Australian manufactures and drew attention to the strengths of the industry.

While ‘carbon’ and ‘tax’ was the hot topic for the night, it was Quickstep Holdings’ claim to Manufacturers’ Monthly’s Manufacturer of the Year for 2011, as well as winner of the Global Integration Award, which highlighted how Australian manufacturers can successfully compete against the best in the world.

As part of the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter program, the largest military aerospace program in the world, Quickstep has successfully overcome the many entry barriers faced by new participants in the defence manufacturing sector, possibly the highest of any industry in the world.

This year’s Endeavour Awards gala dinner will be held in Sydney on 9 May 2012, at Doltone House at Darling Harbour and will bring manufacturers large and small together for Australia’s largest manufacturing industry awards program.

We can’t reveal too much about the night because we want to keep it a sur-prise! What we can share with you is that the awards will again be run by a professional MC. This year we have one of Australia’s leading comedians and media personalities, James O’Loghlin joining us on this special night of night for industry. Most recognised as the host of the ABC program, The New Inventors, O’Loghlin is well verse in the necessity, innovation and creativity that goes into development new technologies and products that help to shape and reshape how we do things.

Judges for this year’s awards include Manufacturers’ Monthly’s editor-at-large Alan Johnson; Dr John Blakemore, CEO and Principal Consultant Blakemore Consulting International; Dr Ivan Cole, Research Team Leader for CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering (CMSE); Mark Goodsell, NSW Director of the Australian Industry Group; Derek Lark, executive director of the Industry Capability Network; and Stephen Johnson, Acting Manager Industry Team For Manufacturing and Electrocom, NSW Department of Education and Communities.

Thank you to all our 2012 awards sponsors: ABB, Atlas Copco, BOC, BlueScope Steel, EFIC, Enterprise Connect, ICN, IFM, Sick and SMC.

Thank you also to all the companies who entered the awards. The nominations this year has been outstanding; truly proving that there is a manufacturing future on this island continent.

The winners from each of the 16 categories will be published in the June issue of Manufacturers’ Monthly and will also be announced on our website at

The Endeavour Awards program is designed to breed innovation and success, please join us on 9 May 2012 to celebrate the best Australian manufacturing has to offer.

To buy tickets to the Endeavour Awards, email Sarah Bateman on

For Endeavour Awards news and updates, go to

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend